New Scottish Young Members Committee

TOP ROW L-R: Stewart Shedden (NHS Forth Valley), Jordan Carroll (NHS GGC), Cameron Thompson (Western Isles LG), Rob Nicolson (NHS Fife), Ryan McLaughlin (NHS Orkney), Abbie Lyall (West Lothian)

BOTTOM ROW L – R: Andrew Crosbie (SQA), Simon Stuart (Housing & Care Scotland), Rhea Thompson (Fife Council), Millie Davidson (NHS Tayside), Stephanie Quinn (Moray LG), Naomi Gray (Aberdeen City), Martin McVey (Gas Branch Scotland)

The Scottish Young Members held their annual development weekend at Stirling University 1 – 3 March. Fifteen branches were represented and a variety of workshops were held including Creative Campaigning, Sexual Harassment, Motion Writing, Presentation Skills and the Impact of Fake News.

Congratulations to Millie Davidson was elected as the new Chair at the AGM, with Martin McVey taking up the Vice Chair position.

2019 is UNISON’s Year of the Young Worker and the committee are keen to work with their branches on events relating to this, as well as progressing their Mental Health Campaign “How’s yer heid?”, through a digital awareness campaign. This will be launched at May’s National Young Members Weekend in Belfast.

Thanks to branches for their continued support of the Young Members Weekend – it really is an invaluable opportunity for young workers across Scotland to come together to broaden their skills and experience and work on issues important to young members.